From understanding comes strength



What’s on..

Useful Links

What’s gone

What’s on

Book Group



Forthcoming Author Visits

James Robertson - 22nd February 2017

James Robertson (born 1958) is a Scottish writer who grew up in Bridge of Allan, Stirlingshire. He is the author of several short story and poetry collections, and has published six novels: The Fanatic, Joseph Knight, The Testament of Gideon Mack, And the Land Lay Still, The Professor of Truth, and To Be Continued…. The Testament of Gideon Mack was long-listed for the 2006 Man Booker Prize. Robertson also runs an independent publishing company called Kettillonia, and is a co-founder (with Matthew Fitt and Susan Rennie) and general editor of the Scots language imprint Itchy Coo (produced by Black & White Publishing), which produces books in Scots for children and young people.

Anne Donovan - 8th November 2016

Anne Donovan is a Scottish author from Glasgow best known for her novel Buddha Da (Canongate, 2003). Her short story collection Hieroglyphics and Other Stories was published in 2001. This is currently one of the prose set texts for Scottish Literature in Scottish schools.[1] A second novel, Being Emily, followed in 2008. Her most recent novel Gone Are The Leaves (Canongate, 2014), was short-listed for the 2014 Saltire Scottish Literary Book of the Year Award.[2]